Pray More


As I opened my fast this morning with a prayer, I immediately apologized for not paying more, then I realized what I said…it’s obviously on my mind. This has stuck with me today. My heart is heavy with regret, all the prayers and blessings I’ve missed out on because of my excuses.

I have so much love for my Heavenly Father, but don’t remember to pray. I allow things to get in the way, little things. As I have thought about it, I am kind of upset with myself. I am so unbelievably blessed, yet don’t remember to say “Thank You” each day. I struggle just like each of you but don’t always ask for help. I make mistakes and don’t ask for forgiveness.

I believe in the power of prayer. I have witnessed miracles happen thanks to the power of prayet. I remind my kids daily to pray for anything and everything but don’t follow my own advice! I always say a little thank you in moments I know I’m being watched over. I will be in a hurry to preschool and mentally think, let me please make this light, and when I do I say a little thank you. The few car accidents I barely missed because someone cut me off or I didn’t rush thru the yellow light, I say a little thank you. Doesn’t Heavenly Father deserve more???

Prayer is so unbelievably important. It’s a way for us to talk to our Heavenly Father. He WANTS to hear from us. Yes, he knows the feelings in our hearts, he knows when we need him but there is times he is just wanting to hear us ask for help,  for us to say Thank you or a simple prayer to keep that line open.

We are so blessed to know and have the knowledge of prayer. To know that someone is listening, that our prayers will be answered when the time is right and that we have a personal way to ask our Heavenly Father for forgiveness for our many mistakes.

So if your like me let’s remember to pray more together. I am setting alarms in my phone, sounds silly but my life functions smoothly thanks to alarms. I am setting 5, 1 for each meal, when I first get up and an hour before bed. I am not planning on just saying a quick prayer then rushing on but instead I will pray and leave a little quiet time after my morning and night prayer to listen to answers I might recieve or the calmness I need to feel.

Leave a Reply

